Sites
Filter sites by: (add a filter)
Doors Open Ontario presenting sponsor
Doors Open Ontario presenting sponsor

Exchange Brewery, The Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

Exchange Brewery, The

The brewery site was historically the first telephone exchange building in the Niagara region. Pieces from the original interior were repurposed to create a bar and tables within the current brewery.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Videos

Contact info

7 Queen Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: info@exchangebrewery.com
https://exchangebrewery.com

Architecture

Year built: 1880; adapted in 2015
Building type: Commercial Food and drink
Architect: Williamson Chong

Niagara Pumphouse Arts Centre Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

Niagara Pumphouse Arts Centre

Located on the banks of the Niagara River in a heritage building that formerly supplied water to Niagara-on-the-Lake, the Niagara Pumphouse Arts Centre connects the community through visual arts programs, exhibitions and events. The Niagara Pumphouse Art Centre Association was formed in 1990, and the building was restored and converted to this visual arts centre in 1994.

  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust
  • Washrooms

Contact info

247 Ricardo Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: office@niagarapumphouse.ca
https://niagarapumphouse.ca

Architecture

Year built: 1891
Building type: Historical landmark Gallery
Architect: John Gait and J.H. Armstrong

Dates/hours open

Oct 22, 11:00am - Oct 22, 04:00pm

Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

New

Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery

The Ravine Vineyard Estate Winery is a timeless Niagara destination for award-winning wines and world-class farm-to-table cuisine. It is steeped in history, family legacy and agricultural heritage. Situated in the heart of St. Davids, this charming and historical property offers a unique escape from the everyday hustle and bustle while being conveniently located only minutes from the Queen Elizabeth Way.

  • Food vendors
  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Washrooms

Contact info

1366 York Road
St. Davids, Ontario
Email: info@ravinevineyard.com
https://www.ravinevineyard.com

Architecture

Year built: 1867
Building type: Attraction Commercial Food and drink

Dates/hours open

Oct 22, 11:00am - Oct 22, 08:00pm

Niagara District Court House Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

New

Niagara District Court House

Constructed c. 1847, this courthouse served as the official county seat of Niagara District until the judicial courts were moved to St. Catharines in 1862. Its large courtroom interior was home to the Shaw Festival’s Court House Theatre until 1973. Today, Parks Canada and the Chamber of Commerce have offices here. It was designated a National Historic Site in 1981.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • National Historic Site (Canada)
  • Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
  • Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust
  • Videos

Contact info

26 Queen Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: kevin.turcotte@notl.com
https://www.notl.com/recreation-events/facilities/court-house

Architecture

Year built: 1847
Building type: Courthouse Historical landmark Theatre
Architect: William Thomas

Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum

The Niagara Historical Society, founded in 1895, opened the Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum in 1907. The museum collects, preserves, researches, educates and promotes the history of Niagara-on-the-Lake and its communities – inspiring an appreciation of local history through engaging programs and exhibitions. In October, the exhibition will be "All Along the Waterfront." During Doors Open, they’ll be offering behind-the-scenes tours throughout the day.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • National Historic Site (Canada)
  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
  • Washrooms
  • Videos
  • Collections and resources
  • Kid-friendly

Contact info

43 Castlereagh Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: contact@nhsm.ca
http://www.notlmuseum.ca

Architecture

Year built: High school building (built 1806), Memorial Hall (built 1906) and Link Building (built 1971)
Building type: Attraction Historical landmark Museum
Architect: W.B. Allan

RiverBrink Art Museum Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

RiverBrink Art Museum

RiverBrink is a fine art museum with exhibitions of historical and contemporary art. In Fall 2022, Specimen will be on display (sculptures by Susan Low-Beer, curated by Sheila McMath), along with works by members of the Group of Seven in The Spirit Within the Form, an exhibition of stone-cut prints by Stanley Lewis. Gift shop and library available.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Washrooms
  • Videos
  • Kid-friendly

Contact info

116 Queenston Street
Queenston, Ontario
Email: manager@riverbrink.org
http://www.riverbrink.org

Architecture

Year built: 1970
Building type: Museum Gallery
Architect: Arthur E. Nutter

Shaw Festival Theatre Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

Shaw Festival Theatre

At 856 seats, the Festival Theatre is the Shaw's largest venue. Built in the modernist style, it was designed to provide a spacious yet intimate audience experience. While touring backstage, you will hear stories from docents about the history of the theatre, the ensemble, and secrets of the 2022 season. Come and learn about the importance of real human connection!

  • Digital Doors Open
  • 2022 theme: Design
  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Washrooms
  • Videos
  • Collections and resources

Contact info

10 Queen's Parade
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: info@shawfest.com
https://www.shawfest.com

Architecture

Year built: 1973
Building type: Theatre
Architect: Ronald Thom

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church

The original 1794 church was burned by the American army during the War of 1812. A new church was later erected, but was also destroyed by a cyclone. In 1855, the current building was constructed. While major restorations have occurred over the years, the interior and exterior of this architectural gem appear much the same as the 1831 building.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Guided tours available
  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Washrooms
  • Videos

Contact info

323 Simcoe Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: standrewsnotl@gmail.com
http://standrewsniagara.com

Architecture

Year built: 1855
Building type: Cemetery Historical landmark Place of worship
Architect: Kivas Tully

St. Mark's Anglican Church Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

St. Mark's Anglican Church

St. Mark's is the oldest Anglican church in continuous use in Ontario. Completed in 1804, it was damaged in the War of 1912. The original balconies necessitated the unusual high pulpits. The 1840 East Window is the oldest stained glass in the province and, with the other windows, form the finest collection of stained glass in Ontario.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
  • Videos

Contact info

41 Byron Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: stmarks@cogeco.net
https://stmarksnotl.org

Architecture

Year built: 1792
Building type: Cemetery Historical landmark Place of worship Private residence

Willowbank Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

Willowbank

Come and take a tour of Willowbank, home to the School of Preservation Arts, which was built in 1834-36. Since 2006, the school’s heritage construction diploma program has trained students in the theory and practice of this unique field. During Doors Open, students will demonstrate skills learned in the program; some of their work will be available for sale.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Guided tours available
  • National Historic Site (Canada)
  • Parking
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Site has blue and gold provincial plaque
  • Site is protected by the Ontario Heritage Trust
  • Washrooms
  • Videos
  • Virtual tours

Contact info

14487 Niagara Parkway
Queenston, Ontario
Email: willowbank@willowbank.ca
https://willowbank.ca

Architecture

Year built: 1834-36
Building type: Educational facility Historical landmark
Architect: John Latshaw

Clare's Harley-Davidson of Niagara Doors Open Niagara-on-the-Lake

Clare's Harley-Davidson of Niagara

Throughout this store are architectural touches with reclaimed and re-purposed materials. Outside, a large water tower was relocated from Fort Erie to form the sign. Inside, reclaimed brick creates the industrial feel, along with wooden doors and reclaimed woodwork. Look for the vintage window in the sales office and a countertop in the ladies’ washroom from a local hotel.

  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Self-guided tours available

Contact info

590 York Road
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Email: lisa@clarescycle.com
https://www.claresharleydavidson.com

Architecture

Year built: 2008
Building type: Commercial Historical landmark

Dates/hours open

Oct 22, 09:00am - Oct 22, 03:00pm

Potter Settlement Artisan Winery Doors Open Hastings County

New

Potter Settlement Artisan Winery

Originally a dairy farm, this site is now – six generations later – home to an international award-winning vineyard. When owner Sandor Johnson first planted grapes here, he was doubted by many. Now, after 20 years and many awards, he is the talk of the industry. On the edge of the Canadian Shield, their organic grapes are like nothing you’ve ever tasted.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Parking
  • Washrooms

Contact info

1445 Potter Settlement Road
Tweed, Ontario
Email: wines@pottersettlementwines.com
https://www.pottersettlementwines.ca

Architecture

Building type: Commercial Food and drink Farm

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 01:00pm - Oct 08, 06:00pm

Phillips House, The Doors Open Hastings County

New

Phillips House, The

The Phillips House, an example of the popular Gothic revival style, was built in the 1870s. It was owned by the Phillips family for nearly 70 years. The property once featured a water pump factory and stables. The door to the summer kitchen (now demolished) is still visible on the north side of the residence. Rarely open to the public.

  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access

Contact info

19 Barry Road
Queensborough, Ontario

Architecture

Building type: Private residence

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 11:00am - Oct 08, 02:00pm

Queensborough Hotel, The Doors Open Hastings County

New

Queensborough Hotel, The

This rambling building began its life in the 1850s as Diamond's Hotel, warmly welcoming workers and travellers until 1919 when it changed hands and became McMurray's General Store. Current owners have reimagined the space as their private residence and have located their sitting room in the same spot as it would have been in the 1800s hotel. Peek inside only!

  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Self-guided tours available

Contact info

1801 Queensborough Road
Queensborough, Ontario

Architecture

Year built: 1850s
Building type: Commercial Private residence

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 11:00am - Oct 08, 02:00pm

Queensborough Loyal Orange Lodge Hall Doors Open Hastings County

New

Queensborough Loyal Orange Lodge Hall

Queensborough L.O.L. (Loyal Orange Lodge) Hall was built in 1862 and operated until the 1980s. In the mid-19th century, the members met "the first Tuesday before each full moon." With its restorations completed in 2019, it is the site of community dances once again. Come and explore this unique part of Hastings County’s history.

  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Washrooms

Contact info

24 King Street
Queensborough, Ontario

Architecture

Year built: 1862
Building type: Concert hall Private residence

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 11:00am - Oct 08, 02:00pm

Sager's General Store Doors Open Hastings County

New

Sager's General Store

Longtime residents fondly remember this building only as Bobbie's. Located in the heart of Queensborough and along the Black River, Sager's General Store was a staple in the community – selling food, hardware, tools, clothing, stationery, harnesses, gasoline and more. Roberta (Bobbie) Sager Ramsay bought it in the mid-1950s; her parents owned it before her since 1921. Peek inside only!

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Parking
  • Self-guided tours available

Contact info

1804 Queensborough Road
Queensborough, Ontario

Architecture

Year built: Early 1900s
Building type: Commercial Private residence

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 11:00am - Oct 08, 02:00pm

St. Andrew's United Church Doors Open Hastings County

New

St. Andrew's United Church

St. Andrew’s United, built in 1890 as a Presbyterian church, amalgamated with local Methodists in 1921. At that time, the bell from the Methodist church was installed in the tower, where it is still rung to alert Queensborough that Sunday morning service is about to start. Of the four churches in Queensborough, this is the only one still in operation.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Parking

Contact info

812 Bosley Road
Queensborough, Ontario
https://www.facebook.com/standrewsqueensborough

Architecture

Year built: 1890
Building type: Place of worship

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 11:00am - Oct 08, 02:00pm

Thompson House and Mill Doors Open Hastings County

New

Thompson House and Mill

Queensborough was established when Miles Riggs and his wife Hannah arrived here and built a sawmill and flour/feed mill. Lumber camps further north would send log drives down the Black River, helping the mill and the community to thrive. This handsome regency-style frame home was built in the early 1850s for Riggs’s family, which included 11 children. Peek inside only!

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Self-guided tours available

Contact info

14 Barry Road
Queensborough, Ontario

Architecture

Year built: Mill built in the 1840s; house built in the 1850s
Building type: Historical landmark Historical house Private residence

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 11:00am - Oct 08, 02:00pm

Bancroft Eagles Nest Park Doors Open Hastings County

New

Bancroft Eagles Nest Park

This popular local attraction features hiking trails and spectacular panoramic vistas. During Doors Open, visitors can explore a self-guided trail installation to learn about the Algonquin presence in Bancroft, as well as several ecosystems, or they could ask members of the Kijcho Manito Madaouskarini Algonquin First Nation for their interpretation of the historical and natural significance of the area.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Parking
  • Washrooms

Contact info

79 Eagles Nest Park Road
Bancroft, Ontario
http://www.bancrofteaglesnestpark.com

Architecture


Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 10:00am - Oct 08, 02:00pm

Bancroft Village Playhouse Doors Open Hastings County

New

Bancroft Village Playhouse

The Bancroft Village Playhouse is a beautiful 184 seat theatre that has been hosting plays, musicals and concerts since the early 1990s. Formerly the Bancroft Community Hall, this historical building was once the local jail, courthouse and library. Currently leased by the Tweed & Company Theatre, the venue is once more showcasing theatre, music and local arts-based community groups.

  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Washrooms

Contact info

5 Hastings Street South
Bancroft, Ontario
Email: info@tweedandcompany.com
https://bancroftvillageplayhouse.square.site

Architecture

Year built: 1921
Building type: Concert hall Theatre

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 10:00am - Oct 08, 04:30pm

Hazzard's Corners Church Doors Open Hastings County

New

Hazzard's Corners Church

This church, built in 1857, has been the centre of community life since it was constructed. While regular services ended in 1967, volunteers fought for its designation as a historical site. Now, on every Sunday in August, special Summer in a Country Church services fill the pews and the church is once again bursting with old-fashioned gospel music and fellowship.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Parking
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Washrooms

Contact info

3080 Queensborough Road
Madoc, Ontario

Architecture

Year built: 1857
Building type: Cemetery Place of worship

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 10:00am - Oct 08, 04:00pm

Marmoraton Mine Doors Open Hastings County

New

Marmoraton Mine

Discover the history of this abandoned open-pit iron mine that once employed 300-plus men who, between 1955 and 1979, filled 30 to 35 railway cars with iron ore each day. Wonder at the natural beauty that has since replaced this once-industrial land, where rainfall has filled the deep pit to create a lake that has a unique turquoise hue.

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking

Contact info

Marmora Mine Road
Marmora, Ontario
https://www.marmorahistory.ca/the-mighty-marmoraton-mine

Architecture

Building type: Attraction

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 10:00am - Oct 08, 04:00pm

North America's Smallest Jailhouse Doors Open Hastings County

New

North America's Smallest Jailhouse

Built in 1898, this jail measures only 4.8 metres by 6 metres (15.7 feet by 19.7 feet). It originally held three cells and a lobby area and operated for 50 years before closing due to a lack of local crime. Although today the jail is used as a visitor information centre, you can still get your picture taken behind bars!

  • Full wheelchair access
  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Self-guided tours available

Architecture

Year built: 1898
Building type: Attraction Historical landmark

Dates/hours open

Oct 08, 10:00am - Oct 08, 04:00pm

O'Hara Mill Homestead and Conservation Area Doors Open Hastings County

New

O'Hara Mill Homestead and Conservation Area

Where nature meets history! The O’Hara legacy began in 1789 when Patrick O'Hara arrived from Ireland and busied himself with starting a sawmill and creating a thriving homestead. Today, the O’Hara Mill Homestead is an opportunity to relive the day-to-day hardships and rewards of early pioneer life. Come and explore the restored original farmhouse, sawmill, carriage-house, shed and woodworking shop.

  • Digital Doors Open
  • Guided tours available
  • Kid-friendly
  • Parking
  • Partial wheelchair access
  • Self-guided tours available
  • Washrooms
  • Videos

Contact info

638 Mill Road
Madoc, Ontario
Email: jamesohara1880@gmail.com
https://www.oharamill.ca

Architecture

Year built: early 1900s
Building type: Historical landmark Historical house Schoolhouse